Shortly after the District 2-AAA baseball tournament ended, which was held at Seymour High School, awards were given out and the Seymour Eagles dominated. The Eagles won the regular season in district play but lost in the semi-finals of the tournament. Seymour had the IMAC Player of the Year, Pitcher of the Year and Coach of the Year.
Seymour’s Kyle Koeneman received District 2-AAA Coach of the Year, Andrew Ott received Player of the Year and Dylan Dickert received Pitcher of the Year. For the tournament team, Seymour’s Noah Webb earned Tournament Most Valuable Player as well as IMAC Hitter of the Year and Kaleb Orr and Ben Willcoxon received first team honors.
Koeneman was a Seymour graduate where he earned All-State honors. He signed with Louisiana State University when they were ranked number one in the nation after receiving All-American honors at Walters State College and Carson Newman College. Koeneman then had a brief stint in minor league professional baseball. His 2018 Eagles made the semi’s of the state tournament. His team this year went 20-13 overall and 10-2 in district play.
Seymour’s Elijah Galyon, Derek McCarley, Marcus Joyner, Adam Quincey, Chris Hilton, Noah Maples and Luke Farragut were named honorable mention for the regular season.
Other schools in the IMAC regular season also had players honored. Those schools included Sevier County, Morristown-West, South Doyle, Morristown East, Jefferson County and Cocke County.
Besides Seymour, Sevier County, Jefferson County and Morristown West had players on the All-District Tournament team.